Live at KDHX, Vol. 8: Independent music plays here

Live at KDHX, Vol. 8

Live at KDHX, Vol. 8 isn’t just a music anthology. It’s a 22-track mixtape, selected with care, sequenced with love, and remixed and mastered to capture all the warmth and intimacy of the Magnolia Avenue Studios. And needless to say, it rocks (and swings and twangs and grooves) with the spirit of independent radio in St. Louis, 88.1 KDHX.

Featuring exclusive in-studio performances you won’t find anywhere else, Live at KDHX, Vol. 8 spotlights a wide array of artists and genres. From the old-time blues of the Carolina Chocolate Drops to the cinematic rock of Monahans, from the brash indie pop of White Rabbits to the riveting storytelling of Jason Isbell, from the working class punch of the Bottle Rockets to the timeless Scottish folk of the Trash Can Sinatras, from the old school country of James Intveld to the soul-soaked ska of Westbound Train, this collection is the soundtrack for your eclectic, music-loving life.


Live at KDHX, Vol. 8: 3 Song Sampler by KDHX

Join the Radio Frequency Club, our monthly giving program, or support KDHX at the $88 level or above during Fall Membership Drive 2010, and we’ll send you Live at KDHX, Vol. 8. The CD is not available in stores, so support 88.1 KDHX today.

Track list:

 1    Pokey LaFarge – “Born in St. Louis”   
 2    Carolina Chocolate Drops – “Don’t Get Trouble In Your Mind”
 3    Mike Doughty – “(I Want To) Burn You (Down)”
 4    Elvis Perkins in Dearland – “Stay Zombie Stay”
 5    White Rabbits    – “The Salesman (Tramp Life)”
 6    Roman Candle – “Why Modern Radio Is A-OK“
 7    James Intveld    – “Let’s Get Started”
 8    Eilen Jewell – “Rain Roll In”
 9    Joe Pug – “Hymn 101”
10    Brighton, MA – “Good Kind Of Crazy”
11    Jason Isbell – “Streetlights”
12    Monahans – “The Low Light”
13    Lou Barlow – “Only One”
14    Bottle Rockets     – “Hard Times”
15    These United States – “End”
16    Westbound Train – “Check Your Time”
17    Dave Alvin & Christy McWilson – “Here in California”
18    Trashcan Sinatras – “I Hung My Harp Upon the Willows”
19    The Dandy Warhols – “Stars”
20    Heartless Bastards – “Hold Your Head High”
21    Davina & the Vagabonds – “Black Cloud”
22    Scottie Miller & the Re-Uptake Inhibitors – “East St. Louis”


  • Daniel

    $88? Another page said $50.

  • Roy Kasten

    Sorry about that. Other page was incorrect. CD is available at the $88 level or above, or join our monthly giving program, the Radio Frequency Club, and we’ll send the collection as a thank you gift.

  • Mike Tamm

    The album cover looks really cool! Is it available on itunes?

  • Roy Kasten

    Not available in iTunes. But you can pick up a copy by donating $88 or more (or by joining the Radio Frequency Club) here: